Holy Scriptures in Christianity.

Christian Bible,
1407 handwritten copy



The Bible (the Old Testament and New Testament):

  • For Protestantism,
    this is the 66-book canon – the Jewish Tanakh of 24 books divided differently (into 39 books)
    and the universal 27-book New Testament.
    Read the Protestant Bible Version
  • For Catholicism,
    this includes seven deuterocanonical books in the Old Testament for a total of 73 books, called the Canon of Trent (in versions of the Latin Vulgate, 3 Esdras and 4 Esdras are included in an appendix, but considered non-canonical).
    Read the Catholic Bible Version
  • For the Eastern Orthodox Church,
    this includes the anagignoskomena, which consist of the Catholic deuterocanon, plus 3 Maccabees, Psalm 151, the Prayer of Manasseh, and 3 Esdras. 4 Maccabees is considered to be canonical by the Georgian Orthodox Church.
  • The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church
    (and its offspring, the Eritrean Orthodox Church) adds various additional books depending on the specific enumeration of the canon (see Ethiopian Biblical canon), but always includes 4 Esdras, the Book of Jubilees, 1 Enoch, 4 Baruch, and 1, 2, and 3 Meqabyan (no relation to the Books of Maccabees).
  • Some Syriac churches
    accept the Letter of Baruch as scripture.


Read the Catholic Bible Version:

 Read the Protestant Bible Version: